Responsibly Self-Promote

We all shamelessly self promote from time to time or have done so in the past when social media were still new to us and exciting outlets for expression. My tumblr still serves this purpose and will remain a place where I post photos, quotes, and miscellaneous happenings in my daily life. But now that we’re older (I wrestle with this) it makes sense to re-create ourselves for a future as a professional creator rather than a teenage consumer.

See, I self promoted

See, I once innappropriately self promoted

This type of self promotion is just another identity created to fit the platform being used. A friend of mine uses WordPress to keep his curriculum vitae up to date. Some google searches led me to a guy’s blog on traveling and motorcycles titled ‘Motorcycles and Cynics’ which is published on the same platform but was created for a different purpose.

The attachment I have to profiles online is peculiar when you compare it to the need for them in order to communicate with others. I use Facebook, Twitter, Snapchat, Tumblr, Pinterest, and Instagram for all but professional purposes. These platforms can function alternatively for brands but for individuals its limited to choosing one of the two ways to promote. One must professionalize a presence online or simply restrict themselves to one or two seperate platforms of social media.

Leave a comment